Skipworth – Echoes and Lines

Lachlan Skipworth plays with colour and texture to create remarkable new sounds

Lachlan Skipworth
Written Year
Arcadia Winds
Wind quintet
Movement Time Stamps

Written in 2017, Skipworth’s Echoes and Lines marks a radical departure from the composer’s typically long structures; he challenged his usual way of working by writing miniatures that express the personalities of the instruments and their players.

It consists of nine short movements: I. Mysteriously–II. Very energetic–III. March-like–IV. Four Against Three–V. Abstract–VI. Mechanically–VII. Pressing–VIII. Smoothly, unaccented unless marked–IX. Reminiscent.

Echoes and Lines was commissioned in 2017 by the Dr David Cooke and the Silo Collective, and premiered by Arcadia Winds at the Perth International Arts Festival.