Williams – Animalia

Natalie Williams' quirky, characterful musical portraits of pets and their owners

Natalie Williams
Written Year
Arcadia Winds
Wind quintet
Movement Time Stamps

Nataile Williams’ Animalia was written to coincide with the National Portrait Gallery’s “Popular Pet Show” exhibition–each movement corresponds to a portrait of an artist’s pet. Movement’s 1 and 2 are based on sketches from Kristin Headlam’s A Dog’s Life; Movement 3 is based on Lucy Culliton’s paintings of her sheep; Movement 4 is based on Anna Culliton’s pottery figure, Molly and the Circus Dogs. To view information about this exhibition, visit the National Portrait Gallery’s website.

The four movements are entitled: I. Aubade–II. Dinner Dance–III. Five Sheepish Faces–IV. Molly and the Circus Dogs.