Whitney – Five Scenes

Ian Whitney explores and subverts musical tropes in a charming series of narrative vignettes

Ian Whitney
Written Year
Arcadia Winds
Wind quintet
Movement Time Stamps

Ian Whitney’s Five Scenes cleverly plays with different musical tropes and forms: the first scene is a modern take on a moto perpetuo; the third scene evokes Classical hunting music; and the fifth interprets American prairie music in the style of “Spanish” music written in Paris.

These five vignettes are titled: I. Moto perpetuo–II. Duet–III. Canzone da caccia–IV. Trio–V. Le voyage américain.